How (Some) Catholics Really Live

I’ve had ideas about starting this blog for a while. But I wasn’t really sure how to go about it.
It’s a hard time to talk about religion, let alone trying to live a Godly life. So much about religion, particularly Catholicism, is so misunderstood – often (but not always) purposely by those looking to promote some other philosophy or lifestyle. Its also often difficult to conjoin religious beliefs with the principles of a free society like the United States of America.
That said, my husband and I are raising our children Catholic. We believe they – and we and others – can live Godly lives, defend the tenants of free society and live in harmony with others who do not subscribe to our beliefs.
We are certainly not saints. We’re not even close to being role-model Catholics. But we aspire to be, and truly try. Life gets in the way. A lot. Things like illnesses, friends, family members, new discoveries, travel, employment, other people, other peoples ideas & feelings, entertainment. I could go on for hours. But I won’t. Thats what the blog is for.

Today is the first of the year. Always an exciting time, and one to spend with friends and family. Last night it was friends, today its family. The gatherings couldn’t be more different. But both are cherished.
I can remember the rush up to the dropping of the Times Square ball as a child. I remember that the little clock in the corner of the tv screen seemed to take forever to get to that :10 mark. My children, 7 and 9 now, had much of the same experience last night. Tired and anticpating, they waited, not always patiently, for the ball to drop.
At about 11:45 p.m., I quickly traded in ABC’s Rockin’ New Years Eve for Carson Daley on NBC. No way I was allowing my kids to see whatever Miley Cyrus was up to in that white fur coat. Likely less than at the VMA’s, but I still wasn’t taking the chance. I was comfortable at NBC, until some montage of the adult persuasion came on there. Had to vacate NBC as well. When Miley was done, I went back to ABC, but not after flipping through 200 plus channels in the meantime to kill time.
New Years Eve tv sure has taken a dive. Executives don’t seem to comprehend that there are millions of families out in tv land that night trying to mark the holiday together. It’s one of few nights small children are allowed to stay up late. And we get the optimal in family friendly tv: Miley, the cast of Modern Family, Jenny McCarthy, whats her name who stepped in it on World War II vets, and so on. Not one is appropriate for a kid under 10. Yet there they are, as if they were America’s finest, singing and dancing and kissing Donnie Whalberg (loved you since my teens Don; not so much after the Jenny episode last night).
I’m not about censorship in any way. As a writer, I cherish the right to say what I want to say, as well as the right of others to say their piece. But there needs to be some level of responsibility in television production. This isn’t specific to New Years Eve. A few months back my girls turned on NBC to see their favorite, America’s Got Talent, another show I’m constantly editing as if I were Winston in 1984. At 8 p.m. on a summer night, my senses were assulted by two no-talent wannabees, complete with dancers clad in gold lame thongs, singing the “B-O-O-TY” song, which I thought had gotten the red X weeks before. THIS IS NOT APPROPRIATE AT 8 p.m.
How can we expect our children to grow up with any sense of sexual morality when we bombard them with this crap before mom and dad have even had the opportunity to have the birds and the bees chat with them?
If it truly takes a “village” to raise our children correctly, television producers need to drop the Ari-from-Entourage act and get with the program. Somethings are appropriate at some times, and some things just aren’t.
At least I’ve got my girls graoning at the site of Miley Cyrus instead of fighting me for the remote. God help me keep it that way.

4 thoughts on “How (Some) Catholics Really Live

  1. katebortell

    I don’t know how old your girls are, but I have three children, and they are almost surely older. They are 24, 21 and almost 17. I have worked their entire lives trying to keep them from thinking all of that stuff you mention not take over their lives, and God forbid, become what they hunger for. I have been successful, and I believe you will too. Be the example of what you want them to be. You cannot shield them from the world. It has permeated every single area. Let them grow and become who they were meant to be. But that doesn’t mean you can’t show disapproval, or discuss things that come up and help them understand that something is not right, that something does not show how a person should be in the eyes of God. I sent one of my children to Catholic school and the other two to public school, and all have their morals in tact. They have paid the price for it in some ways, though I would not change a thing about their journey. They have lost so called friends, and stayed back from certain gatherings, but honestly at a certain age they no longer want to go anyway, because they see things for what they are, and will choose on their own to not join in.
    Your children will be fine. Just be consistent and be strong. And always look at the big picture. Remember how you want them to be as adults, and ask yourself if doing a certain thing, or hanging out with a certain person will help develop that character.
    God Bless!!!
    Kate

    Reply
  2. Jen

    I couldn’t agree more. I was HORRIFIED when for the first time I allowed my kids to stay up and watch what I fondly rembrred from my childhood. I kept saying ‘what happened to Dick Clark?’ (obviously meaning the innocence of NYE, not the man specifically). I read another mom’s blog and she plans a much anticipated family movie night that ends just minutes before the ball drop. I will do that next year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

